top of page

EVER LISTENING EARS


With much diligence and prayer The Salem Equestrian Center (S.E.C.) was established in 1981 on the backs of two horses: Coco and Earthquake. Its mission: acting on Christian principles, and utilizing the challenging yet accepting nature of equines to provide a safe, therapeutic environment in which to impart valuable life skills and teach the art of horsemanship.

In pursuit of this mission more than seventy horses have served Salem’s youth in the past thirty five years. Many patient and loving equines’ have come and gone through our stable doors, but it takes an exceptional horse to remain. Here at the S.E.C. we are blessed to have, Braxton, a veteran lesson horse who has been the pillar of our herd for over twenty years! Braxton arrived at Salem as a four year old in 1995. With the proximity of his 25th birthday in 2016 we set about collecting some stories about this faithful fellow’s life.

Back when Braxton first arrived at The S.E.C. Louise Richards, MD Salem Children’s Trust founder and fellow equine enthusiast, was very involved in Salem’s Equestrian Programs. Since retired, Louise recalled her memories of Braxton in a recent letter. "The kids thought it grand to be on such a big horse, the one whom all the other horses followed,” she writes. But perhaps the most vivid memories Louise shared are those regarding Braxton’s, "big heart and ever listening ears". She tells about how her own horse was located next to Braxton's stall, and how she would overhear many a conversation from his admirers. She recalls that the stable was often full of these conversations, but for some reason Braxton attracted the most confidants, often saying something like:

Hi Braxton! How are you, Braxton? Did you have a good day? I’m so glad to see you Braxton! Oh, Braxton, you’re my best friend, boy. Nobody has ever really liked me… but YOU. My parents didn’t want me, and they sent me away. I don’t know if anyone will ever like me. But you like me, don’t you Braxton? You always let me brush you… does that feel good, Braxton? ... and you let me ride you. I love you, Braxton!”"

As the current manager of the Equestrian Program it is always nice to hear how much the horses mean to their riders. I was recently cleaning out the old filing cabinet at the office when I ran across a handwritten letter to a former manager from one of Braxton’s admirers.

Dear Mrs. R,

I know how you feel about the horses and I know you care about them too. So, I was wondering if I save up all of my money this summer, do you think I’ll be able to buy one of the horses? ...So here’s what I’m going to ask you for: I would like to know if I can buy one of the horses, because I really, really, really like him and I also have only one particular horse in mind; it’s Braxton; because I am really, really, really attached to him for one reason - he really, really, really likes me too, he’s also attached to me - for two - there’s no other horse that I would rather have, other than being with my best friend, and besides I already know how to ride him, feed him, brush him, horse shoe pick his hooves. I know how to talk to him, and how to make him listen to me when he wants to go his own way, plus you even said so yourself about doing good on riding and showing whose boss, and that’s me...

Sincerely Your Best Helper,

S.K.M

Today Braxton continues to teach youth about leadership, patience, perseverance, kindness and the importance of having a good riding position and gentle hands. He also continues to encourage confidence and provide comfort. To any who wish to chat he is always willing to lend his ever listening ears.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page